Pickled Onions

Learn how to make my go to topping for almost any dish (in less than 5 minutes…including prep time!)

This is one of my go to toppings! I add the onions salads, tacos, burgers and any fried goodies like this Griot. I also use the sauce to make vinaigrette and marinade chicken. I even blend it into a creamy Cilantro Crema,  perfect dipping sauce for empenadas. Since it marinades in the onions this recipe quickly brings in a depth of flavor that naturally elevates the taste of your food adding in both sweet, salty, acidic and spicy flavors.

91BBCE77-D7A4-49D6-AE53-DF5589C4A462

This recipe takes less than 5 minutes including all the prep work and stays in your refrigerator for a month (mine never lasts that long)! Give it a try.

Pickled Onions

  • 5 large red onions, sliced into rings
  • 3 tablespoon of honey or light agave syrup
  • 2 tablespoons of sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of diced scotch bonnet or jalapeno pepper
  • 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar
  • 3/4 cup of vinegar
  • 1/4 cup of warm water
  • 1 mason jar

Directions 

Add the sweeteners, salt, hot pepper, vinegar and water into the mason jar. Close the lid and shake vigorously.

Add the onions into the vinaigrette. Let sit in vinaigrette and can be used as early as 5 minutes. Keep this refrigerated and this can be stored for up to one month.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment below if you’ve tried this recipe and if you have any suggestions!

Author: anextrascoop

I am a nurse and wife to a loving man. Follow along as I post recipes inspired by my Caribbean roots and venture into international cooking. Don't hesitate to try these recipes, everyone will be asking for #AnExtraScoop Follow me on instagram @anextrascoop

One thought on “Pickled Onions”

Leave a comment